Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG)

NHS Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) was established on 1 April 2018, following the merger of Newbury, Wokingham, North and West Reading and South Reading CCGs.

The CCG is made up of 51 member GP Practices across the whole locality, serving a population of 528,000 people. It is the CCG’s responsibility to commission services, that means planning, designing and paying for NHS services for all its population, including those provided by the Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust, Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust and the services provided by GP practices.

Berkshire West CCG is a key partner in the Integrated Care System in Berkshire West. An Integrated Care System (ICS) is one in which local NHS organisations, both those that commission services and those who provide services, often in partnership with local authorities, choose to take on clear joint responsibility for resources and population health, providing joined up, better coordinated care.
The ICS is currently comprised of:

  • Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG)
  • Royal Berkshire Foundation Trust – An acute hospital
  • Berkshire Healthcare Foundation Trust – A community/mental health provider
  • GP practices in Berkshire West which are configuring themselves into four locality/neighbourhood aligned ‘alliances’

Find out more on their website.